Table tennis star Achanta Sharath Kamal to receive Khel Ratna award : The Tribune India


Tribune press service

Vinayak Padmadeo

New Delhi, November 4

Table tennis star Achanta Sharath Kamal has been recommended for this year’s Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna. Significantly, the awards committee headed by Judge (retired) AM Khanwilkar restored the prestige of the country’s highest sporting honor by recommending a single name. The committee had recommended five names in 2020 and 11 last year.

Sharath will be the second table tennis player after Manika Batra to achieve this honor. Sharath has won seven Commonwealth Games medals. He also won a bronze medal in the mixed team event with Batra at the 2018 Asian Games.

What is interesting in this year’s Arjuna Award recommendation list is the inclusion of two athletes – Seema Punia (discus) and Amit Panghal (boxing) – who had been reprimanded for doping violations at the start of their career.

This is the second year in a row that an athlete caught in the anti-doping net has been recommended for the Arjuna Award. Last year, para-athlete Sharad Kumar, who served a two-year suspension in 2012, was nominated for the award. Sharad won the bronze medal in the men’s T-63 high jump at the Tokyo Paralympic Games. In all, 25 athletes were recommended for the Arjuna Award.

India captain Rohit Sharma’s coach Dinesh Lad has been recommended for this year’s Dronacharya award in the lifetime category. In the regular category, archery coach Jiwanjot Singh Teja, boxing coach Mohammad Ali Qamar, rifle coach Suma Shirur (para shooting) and wrestler coach Bajrang Punia Sujit Mann were recommended for the price.

Arjuna Prize Recommendations

Seema Punia (athletics), Eldhose Paul (athletics), Avinash Sable (athletics), Lakshya Sen (badminton), HS Prannoy (badminton), Amit Panghal (boxing), Nikhat Zareen (boxing), Bhakti Kulkarni (chess), R Praggnanandha (chess), Deep Grace Ekka (hockey), Shushila Devi (judo), Sakshi Kumari (kabaddi), Nayan Moni Saikia (bowls), Sagar Ovhalkar (mallakhamb), Elavenil Valarivan (shooting), Om Prakash Mitharval (shooting), Sreeja Akula (table tennis), Vikas Thakur (weightlifting), Anshu Malik (wrestling), Sarita Mor (wrestling), Parveen (wushu), Manashi Joshi (para badminton), Tarun Dhillon (para badminton), Swapnil Patil (para swimming) , Jerlin Anika J (deaf badminton)

Source link

Comments are closed.